Essential Oils and the Bible

I started using essential oils this past year because my daughter was getting yeast rashes that medications both prescribed and over the counter were not helping at all. Shortly after starting to really  look into them my 4 year old started to get strep…..every couple weeks, was determined that he is more “likely to get it” then other kids, and react badly to it with scarlet fever symptoms. It scared me to have that much continuous antibiotics in his little body…so I looked into not just what could aid (I wasn’t going to take chances or skip the antibiotics) but more what could help prevent.

At the same time I have been convicted over the last number of months about my lack of prayer. I have no doubt God can provide for our needs, no doubt that he loves me and my family, so why was prayer not commonplace in my life. I had a million excuses – not getting enough sleep, 2 small children, too busy….all excuses. I have since set aside the first half hour of my daughters nap time to prayer and bible. It’s not a lot of time, and I think that in itself was part of my excuses – that I didn’t have a lot of time to set aside, but making ANY time allows God to work and he has been giving me more of a hunger for that time, and for further prayer and reading and fellowship. 30 minutes isn’t taking “too much time”, but its the beginning of renewing my commitment to what I believe is important, and acknowledging that my relationship with God needs to be given some room.

Since incorporating oils AND prayer regularly into my life and parenting, I became more and more curious about how my faith and perspectives on medication and science and oils and “natural remedies” interact. Because I don’t have a ton of time, rather then type out all my findings, I am going to point you to an article that I found really insightful. It make sense that a God that loves us and wants to heal us, has already created things that will interact with our genetic makeup as humans in a helpful way. And after 3 rounds of antibiotics basically back to back, the preschooler has not tested positive for strep even with symptoms present since despite spending time with friends who tested positive within days of seeing us! And the baby, well I can’t remember the last time she had a bad yeast rash! I can’t say its 100% the oils, but I can say that paired with prayer and trusting God to strengthen my children, both my children have benefitted significantly since we started to look into ways to live a more natural and God centered life!
http://simplelifeabundantlife.com/2013/09/26/biblical-look-use-essential-oils-can-apply-lives/

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 426 other followers

Blogs I Follow

